Five brokers in the grounding file. Seven dimensions on the table. One ASIC license appears five times. Those are the raw numbers a cost-minimizing beginner in Australia should start with before the marketing layer gets added. The strongest argument the affiliate aggregators make is correct on its narrowest point — spread on EUR/USD is a real cost, and tenths of a pip across a thousand round-turns compound. We concede that. What the aggregators then do with the concession is where the audit begins: they rank by headline spread, ignore the account-tier substitution, treat tier-1 regulation as a checkbox, and present leverage ceilings as features rather than as the ASIC-capped margins they actually are for retail Australian clients.

A beginner reading an aggregator's "top broker" grid is reading a scorecard, not a cost audit. A cost audit reconstructs the entire fee stack — stated spread, account-tier substitution, deposit floor, withdrawal latency, regulator claim, platform tax — and shows where the stated number diverges from the invoiced one. This piece does that for the five brokers the grounding file authorizes us to analyze: AvaTrade, Exness, FBS, FXTM, and HF Markets. Each line below cites a number that exists in the file. Where a column is blank, we say so; where a figure contradicts the marketing, we show the contradiction.

The Comparison Matrix: Seven Brokers, Six Dimensions

The table below is the audit's spine. Everything downstream unpacks one row at a time.

BrokerMin DepositEUR/USD Spread (Standard)EUR/USD Spread (Pro)Max LeverageTier-1 RegulatorWithdrawal Speed
AvaTradeUSD 1000.9 pips0.9 pips1:400ASIC1–3 days
ExnessUSD 11.0 pip0.1 pips1:2000FCAInstant
FBSUSD 10.7 pips0.0 pips1:3000ASICInstant to 1 day
FXTMUSD 101.5 pips0.1 pips1:2000FCA1–3 days
HF MarketsUSD 51.2 pips0.0 pips1:1000FCA1 day

Six columns, five rows, every cell citable to the grounding file. The matrix is intentionally sparse. It omits spreads on other pairs, commissions on raw-spread accounts, overnight swaps, inactivity fees, and the regulatory tier of each broker's Australian onboarding entity — because the grounding file does not disclose those numbers and we will not invent them. What the matrix does disclose is enough to make the next six H2s do real work.

A beginner should read the matrix twice. First read: notice which broker tops which column. Second read: notice that no broker tops more than two columns, and that the brokers topping the "cheap entry" columns (FBS and Exness at USD 1 minimum deposit) are the same brokers topping the "high headline leverage" columns (1:3000 and 1:2000). That correlation is the audit's first signal that the headline number and the invoiced number are not the same thing.

Free Download
The 2% Rule Blueprint (PDF)
Position sizing that survives losing streaks — exact formulas with worked examples.

Minimum Deposit: The One-Dollar Floor Is a Marketing Signal

Exness and FBS post USD 1 minimum deposits. HF Markets sits at USD 5. FXTM at USD 10. AvaTrade at USD 100. The spread between the floor and the ceiling is 100-to-1, which should be the audit's first prompt to ask what the floor is actually buying.

A USD 1 deposit buys account creation. It does not buy a viable position. One standard lot of EUR/USD is 100,000 units of base currency; at retail leverage caps that still constrain retail Australian clients to 1:30 for major pairs under ASIC's product intervention framework, a one-dollar deposit margins roughly thirty dollars of notional — insufficient for a single micro-lot entry. The USD 1 floor is a conversion-funnel feature, not a trading feature. It lowers the activation threshold for an email signup; it does not lower the capital threshold for executing a round-turn.

AvaTrade's USD 100 floor is a different signal. It is the floor at which the broker's compliance stack begins to pay for itself — KYC verification, platform licensing, segregated-account custody. A beginner reading the deposit floors as a ranking should instead read them as a disclosure of what each broker thinks the economic unit of a new client is. For FBS and Exness, that unit is email-plus-funded-wallet. For AvaTrade, it is a client positioned to place at least one real trade on account opening.

The invoiced cost of the floor shows up later: at the first withdrawal, when minimum deposit does not equal minimum withdrawal, and at the first inactivity window, when the funded floor can be eaten by dormancy fees that the grounding file does not disclose. We flag the gap. We do not fill it.

Spread on EUR/USD: Standard vs Pro, and the 10x Gap

The headline column every aggregator leads with. FBS at 0.7 pips standard, Exness at 1.0, HF Markets at 1.2, FXTM at 1.5, AvaTrade at 0.9. Reorder the column low-to-high and FBS wins. Add the pro-account column and the ranking collapses — Exness drops its EUR/USD spread from 1.0 to 0.1 pips, FXTM from 1.5 to 0.1, HF Markets from 1.2 to 0.0, FBS from 0.7 to 0.0. AvaTrade does not disclose a pro account differential in the grounding file; its pro-column figure matches its standard column at 0.9.

The ten-fold compression between a standard tier and a pro tier is the audit's second contradiction. It tells the beginner that the broker's standard-account spread is a retail markup, not a cost of execution. The real execution cost is roughly what the pro account charges — and that account is gated by a different fee structure, typically a per-lot commission that the grounding file also does not list. The aggregator ranking EUR/USD at 0.7 pips is ranking a markup. The pro-column figure is closer to the raw cost.

For a beginner, the practical consequence is this: entering on a standard account at 0.9–1.5 pips is a sustainable introduction cost for the first hundred round-turns while the trader learns platform mechanics. Scaling to a thousand round-turns on the standard account is not. At that volume the pro-tier commission structure almost always invoices less than the standard-tier spread multiplied across the same book, and the broker that aggregators tag "best for beginners" because of a lower standard spread may be the worst for a scaling trader because its pro-tier commission is heavier. The grounding file does not include commission schedules, so we do not quantify the inversion. We flag that the inversion exists and that the standard-spread ranking cannot answer it.

Maximum Leverage: What the Headline Number Hides

FBS 1:3000. Exness 1:2000. FXTM 1:2000. HF Markets 1:1000. AvaTrade 1:400. The spread between top and bottom is seven-and-a-half-fold, which is a bigger ratio than the spread column shows — and this is the dimension where the aggregator ranking is most dangerously decoupled from the Australian regulatory reality.

ASIC's product intervention order on retail OTC derivatives, in force since 2021 and renewed, caps retail leverage on major currency pairs at 1:30, on minor pairs at 1:20, on gold at 1:20, and on indices at 1:20. A 1:3000 headline figure available through FBS is the leverage the broker extends to clients booked under its non-Australian entities. For an Australian retail client onboarded to the ASIC-regulated book, the cap is 1:30 regardless of what the broker's marketing page displays. The 1:3000 and 1:2000 figures therefore describe the broker's offshore retail product, not its Australian retail product.

A beginner who selects a broker on headline leverage is selecting on a figure that does not apply to their account. Worse, they are telegraphing to the broker's onboarding flow that they want the offshore book — which strips the ASIC consumer protections (negative balance protection, standardized margin close-out at 50% of initial margin, mandatory risk warnings). The headline-leverage ranking is not a feature comparison. It is a routing signal for whether the client ends up with ASIC coverage or without it. The piece's position: for a beginner in Australia, the correct reading of the leverage column is lowest-is-highest-floor, not highest-is-most-flexibility.

Tier-1 Regulation: ASIC, FCA, and the Reality of Multi-License Books

The tier-1 column reads ASIC, FCA, ASIC, FCA, FCA — five rows, two regulators. AvaTrade and FBS cite ASIC as their tier-1 reference. Exness, FXTM, and HF Markets cite the FCA. Every broker in the file lists a wider regulator stack behind the tier-1 line: AvaTrade adds FSCA, ADGM, CBI, FSA; Exness adds CySEC, FSCA, CBCS, CMA Kenya, FSA, FSC BVI, FSC Mauritius, JSC Jordan; FBS adds CySEC and FSCA; FXTM adds FSCA and FSC; HF Markets adds CySEC, FSCA, DFSA, FSA.

Two primary documents in the grounding give contradictory shapes to the same brokers. The regulator list under Exness contains the FCA — which supervises UK retail onboarding, not Australian retail onboarding. The regulator list under Exness does not contain ASIC. Both facts are operative. The reconciliation is that "tier-1 regulated" in a multi-license book means the brand holds a tier-1 license somewhere; it does not mean the Australian client is onboarded to the tier-1 entity. Exness's Australian retail client is almost certainly booked to a non-FCA entity under the brand's offshore stack. HF Markets and FXTM face the same structure: an FCA license at the brand level, a different licensing entity at the client-booking level.

The two brokers whose tier-1 reference is ASIC — AvaTrade and FBS — are the two whose Australian book sits directly under the regulator a retail Australian client would actually want to appeal to. That reading flips the aggregator ranking: brokers that look weaker on spread or leverage sometimes look stronger on the regulator column once the "tier-1 somewhere" versus "tier-1 for this client" distinction is unwound. The piece does not say ASIC coverage overrides every other dimension. It says the tier-1 column cannot be read as a checkbox without the booking-entity question answered.

Withdrawal Speed: Instant Is a Default Setting, Not a Guarantee

Exness lists instant. FBS lists instant to one day. HF Markets lists one day. AvaTrade lists one to three days. FXTM lists one to three days. The range from instant to seventy-two hours is a two-order-of-magnitude spread on a dimension beginners under-weight at onboarding and over-weight at the first withdrawal attempt.

"Instant" in the Exness column refers to the broker's internal processing speed, not the end-to-end settlement time to the client's bank. The grounding file does not disclose settlement rails, bank-side latency, or whether the instant withdrawal is instant for all deposit methods or only for specific ones (crypto rails and e-wallet rails typically meet the instant commitment; wire transfers typically do not). The one-to-three-day range at AvaTrade and FXTM is likely a bank-rail reality rather than a broker queue — the broker releases the funds inside one business day, and the receiving institution clears over the next two.

For a beginner, the practical question is not which column cell is smallest; it is which deposit rail will match the withdrawal rail. Deposit via a card, withdraw via wire, and the "instant" column becomes a one-to-three-day column by the mechanics of the receiving rail — not by the broker's policy. The audit's position: withdrawal speed is a function of the slowest segment in the chain, and the chain is almost always a mix of broker queue, intermediate bank, and receiving institution. The grounding file reports the broker-queue segment only. Treat the column accordingly.

Which Dimension Actually Matters Most

For a cost-minimizing beginner in Australia in 2026, the ranking the audit arrives at is not the ranking the aggregators publish. The dimension that moves the invoiced cost the most is the account-tier substitution — standard versus pro — because the gap between a 1.0-pip retail spread and a 0.1-pip pro spread is roughly a ten-fold reduction in per-trade friction. That dominates the broker-to-broker variation in standard spreads. The second dimension that matters is the booking-entity question folded into the tier-1 column, because it determines whether the client has ASIC's product intervention protections or does not. The third dimension is withdrawal rail compatibility, because withdrawal friction is where the broker relationship actually tests under stress.

The dimensions the aggregators lead with — headline standard spread and headline maximum leverage — rank third and last respectively for a cost-minimizing Australian beginner. Standard spread matters only until the trader has enough volume to migrate to pro tier; headline leverage matters only to the extent the beginner avoids being routed to the offshore book. Everything in between is noise. The audit's single actionable reading of the matrix: pick the broker whose pro-tier structure you can grow into, whose booking entity sits under the regulator you can appeal to, and whose withdrawal rail matches your deposit rail. Those three facts do not fit in a single column of any aggregator's grid.

This piece does not address the per-lot commission schedules on the pro-tier accounts because the grounding file does not disclose them. It does not address overnight swap rates, inactivity fees, or deposit-method surcharges — each of those is a distinct invoice line that deserves its own audit. And it does not address the tax treatment of CFD trading for Australian residents under ATO guidance, which is a separate argument the desk is not qualified to run.

FAQ

Which of the five brokers has the lowest effective cost on EUR/USD for a beginner?

On the standard-account column, FBS leads at 0.7 pips. On the pro-account column, HF Markets and FBS tie at 0.0 pips before the per-lot commission the grounding file does not disclose. For a beginner trading under one hundred round-turns during the first learning window, the standard-tier gap between 0.7 and 1.5 pips is the real variation. Beyond that volume the pro-tier commission schedule — not disclosed here — becomes the dominant cost.

Does the ASIC license on AvaTrade and FBS cover all Australian retail clients onboarded through those brands?

The grounding file lists ASIC as the tier-1 regulator for both brokers, but it does not disclose which entity in each broker's multi-license book handles Australian retail onboarding. In practice, Australian clients are routed to the ASIC-regulated entity by residency during KYC. Beginners should verify at onboarding that the client agreement cites ASIC as the primary regulator, because brokers with wider offshore stacks sometimes offer migration paths that trade coverage for leverage.

Why does Exness advertise 1:2000 leverage if ASIC caps retail leverage at 1:30?

The 1:2000 figure is the leverage ceiling at the brand level, available to clients booked under Exness entities regulated by jurisdictions without a retail cap. ASIC's product intervention order limits retail Australian clients to 1:30 on major currency pairs regardless of the broker's headline figure. A client who sees 1:2000 and wants it is being routed to a non-ASIC entity, which strips Australian retail protections. The headline figure is a feature of the offshore product, not the Australian retail product.

Is a USD 1 minimum deposit at Exness or FBS a meaningful advantage for a beginner?

It is meaningful as an activation threshold and almost meaningless as a trading threshold. One dollar does not margin a viable position on major pairs under ASIC's 1:30 retail cap. The practical minimum capital for a beginner to execute a micro-lot with risk-managed sizing is substantially higher — closer to the AvaTrade USD 100 floor than the Exness or FBS one-dollar floor. The low-deposit column is a conversion signal, not a capital-adequacy signal.

How should a beginner interpret "instant withdrawal" claims?

"Instant" refers to the broker's internal processing queue, not end-to-end settlement to a bank account. Crypto and e-wallet rails usually honor the instant commitment. Wire transfers introduce one to three business days of bank-side latency independent of the broker's processing time. The practical rule: deposit through the same rail you plan to withdraw through, and treat the slowest segment of the chain as the real withdrawal speed. The grounding file reports broker-queue speed only.

Which broker offers an Islamic (swap-free) account for Australian clients observing Shariah compliance?

All five brokers in the grounding file — AvaTrade, Exness, FBS, FXTM, and HF Markets — list Islamic account availability. The grounding file does not disclose the specific terms of each swap-free account, including administrative fees that sometimes replace overnight swaps and the list of eligible instruments. Beginners pursuing a Shariah-compliant account should request the written terms before funding, because the swap-free structure varies broker-to-broker and the file does not report that variation.

What is missing from this audit that a beginner should still research?

The grounding file does not disclose per-lot commission schedules on pro-tier accounts, overnight swap rates on standard accounts, inactivity fees, deposit-method surcharges, or the specific booking entity each broker uses for Australian retail clients. Each of those is a line item on the invoiced cost that this audit cannot quantify. A beginner selecting a broker on the five dimensions above should treat them as necessary but not sufficient, and request the client agreement before funding.